Pie Pan Connie with Patina

Thread: Pie Pan Connie with Patina

Pie Pan Connie with Patina

I am aware that buying pie-pan Connies on eBay is a venture fraught with peril, due to the large number of fakes and frankenwatches out there. To be honest, I've never actually dared to bid for one because of this, and meanwhile I've been trying to identify the more overt fakes on eBay using Desmond Guilfoyle's excellent blog as a guide.

So just by chance I happened across this pie-pan with a fair amount of patina on eBay that caught my eye. It's said to be a 168.005, cal 561. I've attached pictures from the seller.

I've used Desmond G's Connie authenticity checklist and also his list of 'red flags' for cases to try to check this one out, with the knowledge that 168.005's are often faked. I've also double-checked with the OVD and with Dr Ranfft's movement database.

My questions for the experts would be:
    a) real or fake or franken? (my initial impression is real, but I'm not experienced enough in Connies!)
    b) is the dial patina acceptable? I realize this is very subjective, but I was (perhaps naively) attracted by it, as I thought it was reasonably even
    c) any other opinions about the watch - dial, crown, caseback etc? (does the case look overpolished?)

I apologize that the pictures aren't as high-resolutions as I'd like but that's what the seller's putting up.

Any opinions would be helpful - thanks everyone!
    Name:  Con front.JPG
Views: 185
Size:  134.1 KBName:  Con oblique.JPG
Views: 171
Size:  107.2 KBName:  Con Back.JPG
Views: 202
Size:  109.9 KBName:  Con caseback.JPG
Views: 170
Size:  128.7 KBName:  Con movt.JPG
Views: 174
Size:  133.5 KB
    Last edited by NT931; December 28th, 2012 at 16:17. Reason: wrong hyperlink provided

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

Re: Pie Pan Connie with Patina

Definitely a franken!!! The rotor and automatic winding bridge are much shinier than the rest of the movement. Most certainly a sign of "differential ageing"!