Please help me to identify this watch

Thread: Please help me to identify this watch

Please help me to identify this watch

Hello, forum.

Could you please help me to identify civil war era key wind pocket watch?
    The serial number is 15 134, if it was made by Waltham, then this watch was made in 1860, but I do not see any signature.
    Perhaps someone can recognize the mechanism?

p.s. I am a newbie and English is not my native language, so please do not be too hard on me.

Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Please help me to identify this watch

Welcome to the forum!

Your watch is not made by Waltham, it is a generic Swiss movement from the 19th century. These are difficult to identify, someone with better knowledge on these might give you a better date. The serial number you quoted is from the case, this is not useful for identification of pocket watches. Serial numbers must be from the movement. Nice looking watch.
    Erik_H
    Member NAWCC Chapter 149

I forgot to ask, are there any other markings on the inner caseback?
    Erik_H
    Member NAWCC Chapter 149

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Thank you for your response.
    These watch I bought on eBay and it was said that it belong to American civil war era , a seller know nothing about it. These pictures I just copied from description.

The watch is now on its way and I do not have it by myself, but I was so excited about it, that I started looking for information.

It will arrive in a couple days and I will have the opportunity to take pictures of other parts.

Thanks again for your help.

A key wind with that bridge layout could date from the middle of the nineteenth century... but a close examination will give the experts more clues. It is an early watch but it may not be that early.
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.