Please help me in identifying this pocket watch (potentially antique German)

Thread: Please help me in identifying this pocket watch (potentially antique German)

Please help me in identifying this pocket watch (potentially antique German)

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time visiting these forums, so I apologize if I am posting in the incorrect place, but if you all could assist me in determining what kind of pocket watch this is, it would be greatly appreciated.

It was given to me by my grandfather, who I believe received it from either his father or his grandfather (so it is either my great-grandfathers or my great-great-grandfathers.) I come from a long line in Germany, so I have suspicions it may be German, around late 1800's perhaps.

I cannot seem to figure out how to open the case, and before I take it to someone to take it apart, I wanted to see if you could perhaps tell what kind it was just by seeing the front and back of it.

Thanks in advance!

Max

P.S. In the picture of the front, it is rather hard to see, but there are two dogs (appear to be hunting dogs - I could be wrong) that are looking away from each other, perhaps this helps somehow.

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 1498
Size:  37.9 KBName:  2.jpg
Views: 1623
Size:  41.6 KB
    Last edited by DarkNight22; June 5th, 2012 at 07:34.

Moderator at Large stuffler,mike's Avatar

Re: Please help me in identifying this pocket watch (potentially antique German)

Moved to the more suitable forum.
    Kind regards
    Mike

Instagram @mikestuffler

Vint. Forum Co-Moderator Mirius's Avatar

Re: Please help me in identifying this pocket watch (potentially antique German)