Questions about King Seiko 4502 Movement
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Dan S

Thread: Questions about King Seiko 4502 Movement

Question Questions about King Seiko 4502 Movement

I am new to vintage watch in general. I recently purchased a King Seiko 4502-7000 with the 4502A movement. Besides from the 36000 bph, I don't know much about the movement. Can someone give me some information?

Things that I am interested in:
    - Power reserve (new/expected vs vintage/realistic)
    - Differences between similar versions: is there a 4502B? What is the difference compared to the Seiko lord marvel 5740 movement or the grand seiko movement at that time?
    - How do you know what year the movement was made?
    - How can you tell if the movement is authentic or not?

Thank you.

There is a dedicated Seiko subforum. You might get a response by making your enquiry there (although I assume that some regulars of the vintage forum might know and eventually reply).

Re: Questions about King Seiko 4502 Movement

Quote Originally Posted by ulala View Post
    I am new to vintage watch in general. . . .
    Please see attached pithogram© (all rights reserved to pithy, 2018)

Attached Images Attached Images

Courtesy of ULF.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Thanks for the information Pithy and Amadeus. I want to know how much power reserve I should expect to get from this movement. Mine runs about 18 hrs on a full charge. It is a bit low from my expectation since most watch runs ~40 hrs now. However, the movement runs 36000 bph plus it is old so I don't want to imply the average power reserve to this vintage piece. If anyone knows the link to any thread or any information about this, please let me know. Thanks

I don't know if you will find written documentation of the theoretical power reserve, but it's fair to assume that 18 hours is too low by far. You should have it checked out.
    -- Dan (formerly known as @badbackdan)