recommendations
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: recommendations

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

recommendations

Hi all,

I'm new to the vintage watch scene although have been an admirer for a while. I'm looking to make my first purchase and have about US$ 500 to spend (although having read this forum I want to put aside some of this for a service / repair etc).

I'm after some advice on what this will by me. I have had a look at a few Omega Seamasters (from 1930 - 1960) and like the look of them. I also have seen a few Longines Ultra Chrono on this forum that are very attractive.

Colour wise I will be looking for either brown strap with gold or black strap with stainless. Obviously I am aware that strap can be changed fairly easily but would prefer to have it complete on purchase rather than paying for a strap I don't want/need.

I don't mind if the dial has been refreshed as long (saw some nice examples in this forum) as it is true to the original and I also don't mind paying a bit over the odds as long as it is a nice peice from a reputable source.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Tim

Apart from that I am a complete noob.

Re: recommendations

You will get more bang for your buck with vintage Longines. EBay has over 700 of them for sale right now.
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.
    You need more than just a great design. You need to create an atmosphere around the product.
    Who is the company behind it? Why are they using this material?
    People need to be able to identify the watch with themselves. It's based on emotion." - Ralph Furter

...that's just my opinion and I've been wrong before and will be again and might be now!