Relatively new collector looking for general advice

Thread: Relatively new collector looking for general advice

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Relatively new collector looking for general advice

Hello, members!

I am a relatively new collector, and I have some general questions and requests for advice. I have always been fascinated by watches, my whole life - but only recently have I acquired the means to really collect them. My interest had faded but was rekindled when I received a sizable collection of watches that my father left me. Most of them were uninteresting, low quality, everyday timepieces - but a few stood out. Pictures and descriptions of them are below.

Ultimately what I am looking for is some advice on timepieces to be on the lookout for - things that would be a good value, not *too* expensive (I am still new at this after all, be gentle!) and suit my personal style. I don't believe in collecting for the sake of collecting - I want to cherish and wear every piece I own (with the exception of some of these inherited pieces, which while they may not suit me personally, are too sentimental to get rid of). My stylistic preferences are pretty basic - I like large watches, contrasting dials (black faces are best, white and red hands) - and my color scheme of choice is silver/black. Leather and metal bracelets are both fine. I prefer chronographs, and a date complication is a huge plus. I also tend to like more vintage styles - 60's-80's. Swiss movements, too - I have a very seasoned Horologist friend who will heckle me to no end if I fail to live up to his movement expectations

I hope someone has some good suggestions for me! I know I am actively seeking an Omega Speedmaster, preferably with a date window, and an Accutron Spaceview.

Thanks in advance!

Here are my photos:

A Lanco of some sort, the case is gold and the crystal is a bit scuffed but it could easily be polished up. I don't know anything about this one either