To relume or not relume?
Like Tree35Likes

Thread: To relume or not relume?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

To relume or not relume?

Hi, guys!
    I'm an amateur watchmaker, not a collector.
    Now working on vintage Zodiac Rotographic (in stainless case). The dial (of creamy white color) has a beautiful patina. Definitely I'm not going to touch it.
    Although luminous compound on the dial and hand completely deteriorated. And became to black flaky mess.
    I'm concerned, that old degaraded lume will continue to damage the dial.
    In other hand collectors prefer original look.
    My question is on the title.
    After close examination I can see that old lume was of orange color. As it was on my other Rotographic with black dial in gold plated case, I did recently (see pictures).
    In that case, I had no questions, because original orange lume remain on the dial in good state.
    I just relumed hands because after that hands match overall good state of dial.
    Here is a bit different story. Aged dial. Even more aged hands.Does relume drastically impact vintage look of the watch?
    Going to sell it on eBay when completed. Does it lower the price?
    Thank you for any input!
    Yuriy
    Vintage Zodiac addict.

Re: To relume or not relume?

Here are the pictures.
    Name:  20160206_102520.jpg
Views: 764
Size:  522.9 KBName:  20160206_102421.jpg
Views: 774
Size:  493.9 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images

bobbee, bsshog40, JOSE G and 1 others like this.
    Vintage Zodiac addict.

That is a question I have had as well and I decided to relume the hands on most of mine. I think some watches look incomplete without the lume and as you said they also could damage the dial. Here are some pictures of a couple I just got back and they look better to me than they did previously. I'm not sure what it does to the value though. I do think your watch looks good with the hands as they are though since the lume is still all there.

Name:  IMG_1525.JPG
Views: 761