Replacement parts advice
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Replacement parts advice

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Replacement parts advice

I recently found my grandfather's Seiko H556-5009. I had the battery replaced but the top left button is inoperable, will not depress. The tech believes I need a new movement.

Obviously I would like a new crystal as well.

I'm very new to all of this. Does anyone have any suggestions on where I might begin to look for these replacement parts?

I also neglected to ask the tech which movement is inside :/ will I need to take it back to the shop to find out or is there another way to find out?

P.S. Apologies for the photo quality. I'm not a Glamour Shot Photographer! :P
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Replacement parts advice

Quote Originally Posted by haggisreflux View Post
    I recently found my grandfather's Seiko H556-5009. I had the battery replaced but the top left button is inoperable, will not depress. The tech believes I need a new movement.

I'm very new to all of this. Does anyone have any suggestions on where I might begin to look for these replacement parts?

I also neglected to ask the tech which movement is inside :/ will I need to take it back to the shop to find out or is there another way to find out?

Isn't the module used stated on the caseback? If you know what model you have and what module it uses I would start by searching Ebay.

Usually Seiko case back numbers reference the movement inside. I'm not a Seiko quartz expert, but usually there's a style and movement number engraved there - I only know the mechanical ones, which go something like 5606-7191 (5606 is the movement number in this case, 7191 the case style number)....

Both the module and replacement glass you'll be able to find with the numbers relevant to your model,

QUOTE=Vintage1982;23440602]Isn't the module used stated on the caseback? If you know what model you have and what module it uses I would start by searching Ebay.[/QUOTE]