is this seamaster a franken??

Thread: is this seamaster a franken??

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Confused is this seamaster a franken??

Hi there,I'm fairly new to vintage Omega watches,I'm on my third now,just bought it on ebay,and I'm wondering what your thoughts are on it,the dealer stated it was from 1970,when the omega website dates the movement from '66. I thought the dial looked a bit odd,do you think it has been redialed etc?? or is it franken? or even fake? Your thoughts would be much appreciated. Personally i think the crown is wrong for the watch - its much too small - I can hardly wind it! Next time I think I'll pay the full £500 whatever and go to a reputable shop.
    Vintage Omega Seamaster Steel Automatic Wristwatch on eBay (end time 05-May-11 11:53:38 BST)

Re: is this seamaster a franken??

The outside of it looks good (hands, dial, case , crown all correct) no movement shot so ? Hard to say solid yes and hard to anything beyond take a chance, looks ok.
    I owned one just like it 5 years ago, it looks the same as mine did.

I agree with Fantasyvoyager! Its hard to say until you get the watch in hand and see the movement.

That said... I have not seen a crosshair dial where the crosshair is red! That does not look right to me... I think it should be black... could be wrong??
    A designer knows he has achieved perfection not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away...

Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Twitter: quickpicmarc

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

what the others have said, i would want a receipt for the service whats just been done.

I've taken back off,the movement is marked 552,and has number which dates it to '66,don't know why the seller stated it was circa '70. I dunno,its not a bad looking watch,its just the batons - shouldn't they be in line with the second markers?? I mean starting from the same point?? I'll take a pic of movement and post it,thanks.