Seeking Advice on reliable timekeeper

Thread: Seeking Advice on reliable timekeeper

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Seeking Advice on reliable timekeeper

Hello all,

After a frustrating amount of research I turn to you for advice. I am a poor college student seeking a pocket watch out of an appreciation for their character and an interest in analog devices of all sorts but my search has been met with a disproportionate amount of difficulty. Please understand, most vintage watches are beyond my means to afford and I have watched 14 separate bid attempts on various Elgins, Hamiltons, Walthams, and other watches of proven pedigree slip far into the hundreds before the auction closes. Besides the monetary issue, I am reluctant to carry a vintage item for fear of not being able to care for it as well as it deserves. So I ask this, would any of you care to share your knowledge of the mediocre? I have found that while huge amounts of published knowledge exists confirming the already established abilities of the greats of the pocket watch world, phrases such as "all right" or "not bad" are rare indeed. All I ask for is reasonably accurate timekeeping ability and a hunter case for protection. Perhaps this post will guide others such as myself, and if I have failed to find this information already written, please guide me to it and I apologize for wasting your time.

Thank you,

Blanche

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

Re: Seeking Advice on reliable timekeeper

First of all, welcome to Watchuseek. I hope that we can help you with a little more than conclusions such as "Forget it!". Still, my first reaction when reading your post was, I'm sorry to have to say, "Ouch!". I fully sympathise with your financial situation - I was also once a poor college student! - but you may well find that you are trying to unite conflicting interests.