Semi-quickset Date Function Question
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Semi-quickset Date Function Question

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Semi-quickset Date Function Question

I'm not new to watch collecting, but I'm new to vintage watches. I've seen a few vintage watches described as, "semi-quickset date" watches.

I know how a quickset date function works, but I always assumed that older watches without a quickset date function, needed to have their dates set by rolling forward in full 24 hour increments - a painful-sounding operation that kept me from buying one

I think I read somewhere that watches with a semi-quickset date function can be set by advancing the time through 12:00 midnight, then rolling the time back to say 9:00 PM, then advancing again to change the date, thus allowing one to set the date quicker than advancing in full 24 hour increments. Is this true, or am I totally off the mark?

Any info much appreciated.

Re: Semi-quickset Date Function Question

You are correct.

Entirely.

besides the advance reatreat there is another semi-quik date setting common to some late 60s omegas and a few others. It s push-pull set. Its faster than the advnce/retreat but not as fast as direct date-set because you can advance pretty quickly by pushing fast but you can't go backwards-the true quik-set is direct where the 2nd or 3rd crown pos. turns the date back or forwards.
    busmatt likes this.
    :ROLEX OMEGA LONGiNES ♦ SEIKO Aquadive ♦ ELGIN ♦ hamilton O&W imexZodiac......

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Thanks for the responses. I just ordered a watch with that feature. I can't wait to try it out.

Yup. If the watch has both day and date, usually the day has to be set by doing the full 24hr thing. On some watches, going past midnight and back to 9:00 will quick set the day, and going back to 6 will quickset both the day and date.
    My growing collection of "affordable" vintages: http://www.abslomrob.com

Hi MichaelG,