service time

Thread: service time

service time

Hello all. Since I'm pretty new at buying vintage watches I wanted to ask you what is considered an average amount of time to get a watch serviced ? or possibly a small repair of some type? I know that's a pretty broad question but just wondering what you guys think. Also is there a point at which you wouldn't spend money to get a watch serviced? Say the cleaning costs more than the watch is worth? Thanks Mike

Re: service time

I depends on who you are and what the watch means to you. If you like a watch then value doesn't really come into it and if you are a collector and the watch isn't going to be used then you have it serviced and fixed but that's it and there is little need to service it regularly. If you ask a company like Rolex they would say something like every 2-3 years but then they make big money doing expensive services. For a normal vintage watch 5-7 years is recommended by some but to be honest I don't really know and it might be that newer oils and greas could last much longer.

If we are talking quartz movements a lot of the 1970's models just keep on working with no service at all so it also comes down to type of movement and what it's made of as more modern watcher are said to use more exotic material in need of more regular services.
    Last edited by Shum; February 12th, 2015 at 21:05.

Do you mean how long between servicing? Or how long should a watch shop take to do a service? If the latter, it depends on the watchmaker. Good watchmakers usually have a backlog of work, so it takes longer.