Thread: Smiths Empire - 5 Jewels

Smiths Empire - 5 Jewels

Hey guys,

My dad has in his possession his granddads old mechanical watch. It's made by Smiths Empire and has a hand-wind 5 jewels movement in it. Does anyone know much about this make? I'm guessing it's a cheap mass-produced thing but I'd still like to get it looking nice again especially as my Dad did wear it whilst decorating.... The watch crystal is plastic I believe and pretty badly scratched so I'd like to try and replace or restore it. The main watch case could do with a damn good clean to remove all the years of gunk and paint it has acquired over the years. Could also do with new spring bars and a nice leather strap. So to my main question is how would I begin? I've never done any jewellery cleaning before so I hoped someone could point me in the right direction on how to go about it?

I'll upload some pictures tomorrow when the sun is back out if anyone wants to see them

Cheers guys!

Re: Smiths Empire - 5 Jewels

You may find these 2 links of interest.

eBay.co.uk Guides - A GUIDE TO BUYING A SMITHS WATCH FOR PLEASURE OR PROFIT

Information

and this HOW TO CLEAN AND OIL A VINTAGE MECHANICAL WRIST WATCH OR POCKET WATCH REPAIR describes how to remove the movement from the case if you want to clean the case.

Good luck.
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects."

Will Rogers (1879 - 1935)

Please don't PM me to ask for a valuation - I won't attempt one.

Mod. Russian, China Mech. Chascomm's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by digitalxni View Post
    My dad has in his possession his granddads old mechanical watch. It's made by Smiths Empire and has a hand-wind 5 jewels movement in it. Does anyone know much about this make?