Some advice on vintage chronos please
Like Tree8Likes
  • 1 Post By morningtundra
  • 2 Post By Dan S
  • 5 Post By WatchFred

Thread: Some advice on vintage chronos please

I have been collecting watches for a few years, but in the last couple of years have moved increasingly into vintage pieces. There are a wealth of beautiful vintage chronographs out there, and indeed I already have one such piece in a lovely 1940s Bovet chrono with Venus 170.

I am however not familiar at all with servicing of vintage chrono movements, and I have restrained myself in purchasing any more chronos for that reason. You can get fantastic value in vintage Valjoux/Landeron/Venus, but I always feel like you'd have to pay more than the purchase price of the watch for a service. For the really nice pieces that I've got my eyes on - Universal Geneves, Record Geneves, Gallets etc - it's not too much of a problem. But when I see a cool no-name Landeron for well under $1000 I tend to stay clear for fear of purchasing a white elephant.

So please can experienced hands enlighten me on this, with the following in mind:

• How much more difficult is it to find someone capable of a service?
    • Are there certain movements that tend to be more easily/cheaply serviced?
    • Conversely, are there those that are notoriously difficult/expensive? (and I hope you don't tell me the Venus 170 is one of these.....)

Your experiences would all be greatly appreciated.

You can find watchmakers that specialize in servicing vintage chronos. I've used several.

Prices have ranged from ~us$300 to ~$us$750 for labor only (clean, oil,adjust).

Labor for inhouse movements is not necessarily more expensive but parts tend to be.

Later Valjoux have plenty of parts available.

Landeron and Venus have some interchangeable parts (between movements not between brands) which helps.

PM me if you want a referral.

Sent from my cracked, broken hand wound phone. IG @morning_tundra