Some help needed please

Thread: Some help needed please

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Some help needed please

Hello all -

I am brand new to the watch community and know next to nothing about the history and workmanship of watches. I recently purchased the Illinois watch attached in the photos. I believe it is from 1923, but I'm not sure.

The info and questions I have are as follows:

WATCH
    (Springfield) Illinois Watch Company
    1923 (is this right?)
    19 Jewels (what does this mean?)
    serial # 4165229
    double roller (is this a type of movement?)
    adjusted 3 positions (not sure what this means either)

CASE
    Star Case Watch Company
    14k Gold Filled (does this refer to only the case, or part of the watch?)
    model 177
    serial #9107006
    There are also 5 other serial numbers hand etched on the inside of the case (are these from additional owners? insurance?)

The watch keeps absolutely perfect time down to the second over a 24 hour period and has no noticeable scratches either on the crystal (is it crystal or glass?) or on the metal case.
    While I have no intention at all of selling it, in addition to any history help I'd also be interested to know an estimate of it's monetary value if anyone could help...

Thank you so much for all your advice in advance, I am in love with this watch.

Sidewalk
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Some help needed please

Moved to Vintage for help by the experts there.

There are fathers who do not love their children; there is no grandfather who does not adore his grandson. ~ Victor Hugo

Thanks for repositioning my post !
    Sidewalk

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Omega Forum Moderator emmanuelgoldstein's Avatar

The year of production is approximately 1923 according to the serial number you provided. 14k GF refers to the casing of the pocket watch. You have yourself a beautiful pocket watch. I am sure the more knowledgeable members will chime in.