Sourcing parts for defunct brands
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Sourcing parts for defunct brands

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Sourcing parts for defunct brands

You've probably seen a fair bit of threads like these but here it is again...

Came across this Record Geneve Datofix for sale (the pic is not mine but of the seller) and I kind of got interested and gave up on it in the time of 15 mins. The photo obviously shows why. I'm far from an expert but I can see that the 7 o'clock is broken and the piece is missing, the crown looks like a replacement and probably the same goes for the sub seconds hand. A trained eye would probably notice a few more things I guess.

The question is, how hard is to find replacement parts or details for brands out of business like this? Start with a crown, it's obviously a gold one, probably close to impossible? Same for a replacement 7 or a seconds hand. I'd think that Ebay would be the first place to look but do watchmakers, especially ones that specialize in restoration have other channels of sourcing parts?

And last, would you wear an imperfect piece like this just because you like it? In the sense, I don't give a damn, I'm wearing it because it's exactly the way it is.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Abandon all reason.

Re: Sourcing parts for defunct brands

Find a watchmaker that has been in business for a spell, if he can't find a part, I'm sure he can kludge one up.
    upupa epops likes this.

Haven't decided if I'll offer anything to be honest, priced high for what it is. But you know how it is with these things, it stays in the back of the mind.
    Abandon all reason.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

The hour and minute hands are also replacements and the dial has probably been repainted. The "7" is not broken, it's a "1". The whole thing is put together, and I suspect the deeper you look the more problems you will find.
    upupa epops and esdy_11192 like this.