WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

Spare my blushes! GUB/Glashutte assistance required

3K views 13 replies 6 participants last post by  genji 
#1 · (Edited)
OK so as a complete beginner at watch buying, but a moderately experienced ebayer, I broke all the rules and bought for my OH's Christmas present a watch on the spur of the moment, close to the end of the auction and without doing any research o|

It arrived about 48 hrs ago and I've been trying to research it - to cut a long story short, and probably confirm my misgivings, could anyone out there with some knowledge on the brand (looks like a 50s watch) PM me, and I'll email photos to you - I've not yet worked out how to post photos on here, and until I know for sure that my concern is right, it would be unfair to the vendor to plaster his details all over the web.

Many thanks and BTW, the advice on how to buy vintage watches on here is excellent - shame I didn't find it beforehand!

#2 · (Edited)
Hi. I'm not a GUB expert at all - but you can post pictures off your computer quite easily. Reply to this post, choose the icon 3rd from the right which is 'insert image' and has a little tree in it, then find your picture file in your computer.

Or is the upload failing for you? If so - try resizing your pictures to a smaller file size.

Attachments

#6 ·
1 My own inexperience and daft way of acquiring it!
2 Can't find any reference to GUB having a movement number 622 which is what this has (seen photo of movement and have the individual movement no. too if that's any help)
3 the number on the rear of the case: although I can't find any replica GUB watches that seem to be like this model, and indeed, can't find any photos of anything like it anywhere so far, I did find a Chinese website with replicas with item numbers that were very, very similar...

Against this, it's arrived with a nearly new ostrich and calf strap which wouldn't be cheap....

#7 ·
I don't know anything about GUB, but there was a 62.2 movement: