Spare my blushes! GUB/Glashutte assistance required

Thread: Spare my blushes! GUB/Glashutte assistance required

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Spare my blushes! GUB/Glashutte assistance required

OK so as a complete beginner at watch buying, but a moderately experienced ebayer, I broke all the rules and bought for my OH's Christmas present a watch on the spur of the moment, close to the end of the auction and without doing any research

It arrived about 48 hrs ago and I've been trying to research it - to cut a long story short, and probably confirm my misgivings, could anyone out there with some knowledge on the brand (looks like a 50s watch) PM me, and I'll email photos to you - I've not yet worked out how to post photos on here, and until I know for sure that my concern is right, it would be unfair to the vendor to plaster his details all over the web.

Many thanks and BTW, the advice on how to buy vintage watches on here is excellent - shame I didn't find it beforehand!
    Last edited by genji; November 13th, 2010 at 07:57.

Re: Spare my blushes! GUB/Glashutte assistance required

Hi. I'm not a GUB expert at all - but you can post pictures off your computer quite easily. Reply to this post, choose the icon 3rd from the right which is 'insert image' and has a little tree in it, then find your picture file in your computer.

Or is the upload failing for you? If so - try resizing your pictures to a smaller file size.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Last edited by Marrick; November 12th, 2010 at 20:48. Reason: Testing.
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects."

Will Rogers (1879 - 1935)

Please don't PM me to ask for a valuation - I won't attempt one.

Omega Forum Moderator emmanuelgoldstein's Avatar

If it is from the Ukraine or Bulgaria than chances are it's a frankenwatch. Otherwise you will need to post pictures.
    “Education is the inculcation of the incomprehensible into the indifferent by the incompetent”

-- John Maynard Keynes