Is this Speedmaster case salvageable?
Like Tree5Likes
  • 3 Post By Archer
  • 1 Post By DragonDan
  • 1 Post By Michael Maddan

Thread: Is this Speedmaster case salvageable?

Is this Speedmaster case salvageable?

Hi all.

I have a 67 Speedmaster that was bought with a replacement case fitted, but also came with the original case, glass and pushers.

This is the watch as it is now.

Name:  speed.jpg
Views: 206
Size:  110.2 KB

And this is the original case.

Name:  Screenshot_21r.jpg
Views: 202
Size:  69.1 KB
    Name:  Screenshot_18r.jpg
Views: 198
Size:  54.5 KB

To my inexperienced eye, it looks a bit ratty and over polished.

Does the case look salvageable, and if it is, do you think it's worth putting it back on the watch?

Thanks for your expertise and opinions.

David

CURRENT:

Omega Speedmaster 1967, Alpina 10 compressor 1966, Tag Heuer Carrera CV2010, Grand Seiko SBGA031 diver, Magrette Moana Pacific Diver – Classic, Steinhart Aviation GMT, Breitling Aerospace – Repetition Minutes, Seiko 6309-7040, Lemania 38mm vintage chrono, Orfina vintage chrono, HKED Bund, Prometheus Poseidon, CW C60 Vintage 43mm, Bremont S301, Steinhart Ocean One Ceramic, Eterna Kontiki Bronze LE. Seiko 7548-7000. (I need to sell something at some point).

Re: Is this Speedmaster case salvageable?

Is the original case by HF? If so, the rather blunt edges between areas of contrast polishing are actually nothing strange. If a CB, then yes, that would mean that someone had it polished.

Theoretically, the Omega service does restore cases, and if you provide them with precise, written instructions on what to do and what not to do, they should get it right (80% chance that they will).

I'd suggest asking Al Archer in the Omega forum here on WUS about that - as a watchmaker working mainly on Omegas, he might be able to think of a way of risk-free case restoration options.
    I have great faith in fools; self-confidence my friends call it.
    Edgar Allan Poe