Starting a new collection. US Railroad watches
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: Starting a new collection. US Railroad watches

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Exclamation Starting a new collection. US Railroad watches

Hello friends, this is my first presentation in this subforum (it will not be the last) and for that reason I ask you a little understanding and benevolence before the possible mistakes that I may make. I have been enjoying our common watchmaking hobby for many years and it seems that at a certain moment of it, you have seen everything and nothing surprises you. Nothing could be further from the truth; the recent acquisition of an old Ingersoll caused my attention to be set in a horological world totally new to me: that of the North American watch industry. Within this broad ecosystem, so to speak, the marvelous world of railway clocks was revealed to me. After almost a month of incessant search for information, visiting forums, discovering a new technical language (lepine, open face, Steam lever ...) I started to be "ready" to start the construction of a small but representative collection of 12 copies of American railway watches. This is going to be my watchmaking purpose for the remainder of the year and possibly the next (since the work of gathering information, discriminating and making a list, looking for the selected pieces and not forgetting a significant financial outlay) is going to be a job and considerable effort, but at the same time exciting.

How to try to define in a few words what a railway watch is?

To my newbie, it can be defined by two concepts:

Watch tool: Since it was used by station managers and train drivers and had to comply with strict rules of construction, precision and maintenance.