"Swiss" and "Swiss made" wording on vintage watches

Thread: "Swiss" and "Swiss made" wording on vintage watches

"Swiss" and "Swiss made" wording on vintage watches

Hi - I'm still learning about vintages, and particularly the pitfalls in trying to buy a vintage.

My question relates to the words "swiss" or "swiss made" appearing on the dials on vintage swiss watches. Is my gut feeling that in the 50, 60's and perhaps 70's, manufacturers didnt not always put such wording on the dials of their watches?

Or is it a case of where manufacturers cased watches in countries outside Switzerland (eg, GP i believe for a period assembled watches in NY), they omitted the wording?

I am basically trying to find out if a vintage doesnt carry such wording, its the signs of a poor refurbishment.

Banned

Re: "Swiss" and "Swiss made" wording on vintage watches

SWISS MADE was on the dial of vintage watches that all the parts were made in Switzerland - the whole shebang including dial, case, hands, etc.

SWISS was usually on the watches where the movement was made in Switzerland and then sent to another country to be installed in locally made cases. This was usually done to lower import taxes. Omega, Longines, JLC, VC, Zenith/Movado, and a slew of other brands had case makers in the US (like Star, K & E, Ross, Wadsworth, L & K) and UK (like Dennison) who made gold cases to factory specifications.

If you see a Swiss watch without either designation, 98% of the time it means the dial has been refinished and it was too hard to print it on the concave edge. This isn't always true - some watches might not have ever had it on the dial (a few Omega bumpers from the 40's and 50's I think) or it is on the dial but below the rehaut so you can't see it. Some redialers put the SWISS MADE too high on the dial where it's easier to print. You also need to pay attention to the lume markings (the T's)- but I don't know all the ins & outs of that so somebody else should answer.