Thoughts on my newest purchase- Ottoman PW

Thread: Thoughts on my newest purchase- Ottoman PW

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thoughts on my newest purchase- Ottoman PW

Hello gentlemen,

ok so I figure at age 40 there is just no room anymore for pride..so I'll just post the auction I won and ask for some experienced feedback please.

if the information is accurate, does this watch look to pose any major problems for me to get to working order? I was told it is rushing about 2-5 minutes.
    i have learned a ton already in th past week. I should have, waited, read and been more patient but, I am just getting started so that's my new motto here.

POCKET WATCH BRITISH OTTOMAN EMPIRE TURKEY SILVER | eBay

Not familiar with this maker and could not find much info, but all that urkish suppliers from this era seem to all be stamped the same and have very, very similar movement.

ok thoughts are appreciated.

thanks,
    David
    Last edited by DaveyNY; November 30th, 2012 at 19:49.
    "A man looks down a dark tunnel he must travel and sees no light at the end of it. It is at that moment that his character is revealed."

Re: Thoughts on my newest purchase- Ottoman PW

Congrats on your new purchase!Britannicus was brand of Rueff Freres from La-Chaux-de-Fonds.It looks good apart from that cracked dial.Unfortunately,enamel is pretty hard to repaire.
    “Thoughts are the shadows of our feelings - always darker, emptier and simpler.”

Friedrich Nietzsche

http://www.portalsatova.com/forum/

Thank you very much!

I don't mind the chip on the porcelain ( so long as its stable)....kinda harkens to her age a bit. I was concerned about the Balance Cock Regulator being so far to one side... Not a sign of a major overhaul needed?

David
    Last edited by DaveyNY; November 30th, 2012 at 20:40.
    "A man looks down a dark tunnel he must travel and sees no light at the end of it. It is at that moment that his character is revealed."

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com