Thoughts on Waltham for a new collector?
Like Tree19Likes

Thread: Thoughts on Waltham for a new collector?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Inactive

Thoughts on Waltham for a new collector?

So I'm relatively new to the watch world, and over the last year or so I've picked up a few watches (plus a few others I've accumulated randomly over the years before). I was looking for something affordable and vintage-y, and got a NOS Waltham "red arrow" for a hundred bucks; then on a whim, a Waltham trench watch.

I've seen a few other affordable, really great looking Walthams on eBay and in other places. With SO MANY different brands of watches, types, ages, etc., I've been thinking maybe an approach to scratching my watch itch would be to focus on one brand, and Waltham appeals: their watches seem affordable, many look great, and its sort of nice to think of an American brand in this way.

So, question is, for more experienced vintage watch buyers, does this seem a good approach? I know Waltham isn't a high-end Swiss maker, but do their watches seem to hold up well over time (I mean, physically, not cost-wise)? Do they seem over- or under-priced right now? I'm not looking at this as an investment, so I don't care if prices are going up; but I do want to get watches that function well and represent some value.

By the way, I know enough not to rely on eBay, its a terrible place; I'm using it mostly just as a way to see what's out there.

Thanks for any advice!

Re: Thoughts on Waltham for a new collector?

Pocket or wrist?

Swiss or American?
    Courtesy of ULF.

Inactive

Quote Originally Posted by pithy View Post
    Pocket or wrist?

Swiss or American?
    Wrist.

I'm open to either American or Swiss. I was aware that Waltham both made watches in the US and (later, I gather) imported from Switzerland, but hadn't thought deeply about which one I prefer. What are thoughts on that?

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements