Tissot Automatic Seastar, stoped ticking after a small drop! advice please, worth fixing?

Thread: Tissot Automatic Seastar, stoped ticking after a small drop! advice please, worth fixing?

Tissot Automatic Seastar, stoped ticking after a small drop! advice please, worth fixing?

I have a Tissot Seastar that I would like to get working again, I dropped it on to a wooden table only from a small hight but it stopped it ticking and has not run since, can anyone advise on what could of been damaged?

Movement - 2571 - 15475064

Back - 46660-3x

Dial - Tissot Swiss Automatic Seastar

Re: Tissot Automatic Seastar, stoped ticking after a small drop! advice please, worth fixi

Sorry to hear about your misfortune. I am no expert but I will try to help until the experts chime in. The watchmaking forum may be a better place to post your question but here it goes.

There are a few things that can go wrong when you drop a watch.

First: the balance staff can be damaged or broken. The balance staff in your Tissot is protected by an incabloc shock absorbing system. This system is pretty popular in post WWII watches so they must do a good job. What I don't know is whether balances are still damaged sometimes even with incabloc. It would seem to me that certain angles of impact could still be damaging to the balance even with a shock system.

Second: Other pivots can be damaged or broken. Most commonly the finest pivots are in the most danger. These are of course the ends of the lever (or pallet) and the escape wheel.

Third: The balance can "over bank". In this condition the pallet fork ends up outside the impulse jewel and the balance jams. Watches have parts that are suppose to prevent this from happening, but if a part were worn, damaged, or improperly installed then I suppose it is possible.

There are probably other possibilities that I haven't thought of...I suggest taking it to a watchmaker rather than risk making anything worse.

Good Luck...Let us know how it turns out.