Trench watch - pocket watch conversions - 35mm+ trench watch?
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Trench watch - pocket watch conversions - 35mm+ trench watch?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Trench watch - pocket watch conversions - 35mm+ trench watch?

Hi Chaps,

After my recent splurge into trench watches and the increasing number of threads I have posted on the subject, I have been asked a few questions by new members about buying a 'trench style' watch.... which Im happy to help with, but am certainly no expert - im still learning day by day!

These questions have included links of watches people are interested in buying.... more than one of which have been pocket watch conversions!

Most of you dont need to look at this, as its common (obvious) knowledge... but, it will help me to 'cut and paste' this thread in future messages - if needed, instead of explaining!

OK...

Most, if not all original trench style watches are 35mm or LESS.... I say most, as I cant say for certain and there are probably some out there bigger.... but if you want a trench style watch, you just have to live with the fact it will be smaller than modern day standards.... as such, 38mm... 42mm... even 45mm+ (and everything inbetween) being sold as 'wrist watches' would most likely have started life as a pocket watch!

I recently bought a matchless west end wrist watch as a bit of a project... quite quickly, I spotted a spare that I thought would be good for parts - it was a non runner, but had what looked like a set of hands i needed... but from the blurry pics and poor description, I did not notice/gauge the size....

''Project' wrist watch on the left.... cheap 'spares' watch on the right...

The original wrist watch is 33.5mm.... the pocket watch conversion is 40mm! But from looking from the outside... it does just look like a big trench watch!

The original pocket watch could have looked something like this: