verification about RR watches

Thread: verification about RR watches

verification about RR watches

I am new at this but I'm currently looking for a railway pocket watch, specifically Canadian RR, and I've been looking at various web sites with items for sale and I'm a bit confused.

From my reading I understand that RR watches should/must be lever set. Is this the case with all? Given watch dates from about 1910 on, I have seen some retailers describe watches as RR 'grade' and note that a specific watch is not lever set. Is this just a bit of retail 'marketing'?

Is it possible that a pocket watch is a railway watch without being lever set?
    Thanks

Re: verification about RR watches

"Railway watch" is one of those terms that gets tossed about a lot, but is rather ill defined. There was a standard set out, but it was a voluntary standard. Each individual Railroad had its own requirements that, while usually based on the common standard, could vary in the details. Final say on if a given watch was "Approved" was the Railroad company. Watch companies would manufacture watches based on the common standard; these can be described as "Railroad grade". But being railroad grade doesn't mean it was Railroad Approved. In particular, you could have bought a watch in 1890 that was "Railroad Grade" at the time, but if you didn't get a job with a railroad until 1920, chances are your watch wouldn't have been "Railroad Approved" by your new employer.

In answer to your specific question, it's certainly possible, but rare. Being lever set was one of the fundamental requirements, designed to ensure that the time on the watch wasn't accidentally changed during regular use. Its probably the one truly defining element of a railroad grade watch.

Having said that, if you're looking for Canadian RR watches, you'll hear about (and lust after) the Candian Pacific branded watches, which were Pendant set.

http://people.timezone.com/msandler/.../Railroad.html