Vintage Baume & Mercier Chronograph - Opinions?
Like Tree6Likes

Thread: Vintage Baume & Mercier Chronograph - Opinions?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Vintage Baume & Mercier Chronograph - Opinions?

Just a novice here. Considering buying a vintage Baume & Mercier. Was wondering if anyone had any opinions on whether its been messed with, is legitimate, warnings, advice, etc. THANK YOU

Name:  baume1.jpg
Views: 2319
Size:  52.1 KBName:  baume2.jpg
Views: 1803
Size:  81.7 KB

Zenith Forum Co-moderator

Re: Vintage Baume & Mercier Chronograph - Opinions?

Welcome to the forum. I don't know whether it is a trick of the light but in the movement photo, the chronograph bridge (the bit with "Baume & Mercier" on it) is a little shinier than the rest of the movement. As if the original had been swapped into a differnet movement.....

In other words, I would run a mile! Maybe others will have and share more detailed knowledge but that is my 0.02$.

Hartmut Richter

Quote Originally Posted by Hartmut Richter View Post
    Welcome to the forum. I don't know whether it is a trick of the light but in the movement photo, the chronograph bridge (the bit with "Baume & Mercier" on it) is a little shinier than the rest of the movement. As if the original had been swapped into a differnet movement.....

In other words, I would run a mile! Maybe others will have and share more detailed knowledge but that is my 0.02$.

Hartmut Richter
    I noticed that too... and the dial is a bit too clean (but that too may not mean anything). But for $0.02 I'd buy it! (Hartmut, can you loan me two cents?? LOL)

Seriously, without the watch in hand (from which more accurate judgments can be made) I would pay a lot less for this example than for a known good example. But, since there is a sucker born every minute, someone else will buy it for a lot more than I would.
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.