Vintage Croton Chronomaster

Thread: Vintage Croton Chronomaster

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Vintage Croton Chronomaster

This is my first post here - it seems like you guys would be able to help me with something and this seemed like the most appropriate place to put this. If I'm mistaken, please move it to the appropriate location - as a complete watch newb, I'm sure this won't be the last mistake I make here...

Anyway, among some of the personal items my father left me when he passed a couple of years ago is an old Croton Chronomaster. I know absolutely nothing about watches (other than how to tell time on them), so I wouldn't know the first thing about what to do with this watch - but it doesn't run and the knob on the side doesn't seem to turn correctly and can actually be screwed off of the watch.

What would you guys recommend I do with the watch to get it repaired? Also, do you have any information on the watch - when it might have been made, what the specifications of it are, if there's any chance of finding a manual online?

Thanks,

Kevin

Re: Vintage Croton Chronomaster

The Vintage and Pocket Watch forum has a saved post (... in the Links and Articles sub-forum) which points to a site that can display local watchmakers. That would be a good start for finding a doctor for this baby

It is probably a watch from the 1970's judging from the dial style. The top button starts and stops the timer. The bottom button resets it back to zero if it is stopped. When the watchmaker opens the watch up, get him to identify the movement type and maker and we can say more.

Nice heirloom!!
    "Forever is composed of nows." - Emily Dickinson

"The watch has to be surrounded by a history.
    You need more than just a great design. You need to create an atmosphere around the product.
    Who is the company behind it? Why are they using this material?
    People need to be able to identify the watch with themselves. It's based on emotion." - Ralph Furter