Vintage diver recommendations - based on Yema Superman
Like Tree20Likes

Thread: Vintage diver recommendations - based on Yema Superman

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Vintage diver recommendations - based on Yema Superman

Hi,
    I'm new to watches and so could do with your advice please on what vintage divers I should look at. My budget is around €400.

I recently bought this Yema Superman. In terms of the way it looks it ticks all the boxes: small cream markers and narrow hands; thin bezel; unobtrusive case almost hidden by the bezel; thin (I don't like thick watches).

But for some reason I'm not getting on with it. Maybe it's a bit too small - 39mm across and lug width 19mm. And there's no lume - I like lume. I don't know why but it's not 'the one'; visually it's close but in real life it's not quite there.

Can you please suggest some alternative vintage watches that are similar please? Obviously photos would be good!

Thanks very much

Name:  swist.jpg
Views: 621
Size:  228.3 KB

Re: Vintage diver recommendations - based on Yema Superman

Vintage watches will not generally have functional lume. That's normal.

Other than that, it's quite hard for me to make suggestions since you say that this watch satisfies all of your desires, but you still don't like it. You can find larger vintage divers (EPSA supercompressors, Super Squale, Omega PloProf, Doxa Sub, etc.), but they are not in your budget - not even close.

All in all, to be honest, it sounds like you would prefer a modern watch with a vintage look to a truly vintage watch. I'm sure you can find a large, luminescent, modern diver with a vintage look within your budget (especially since you are ok with quartz).
    Wibbs and Addictedtowatches like this.
    -- Dan (formerly known as @badbackdan)
    ------- @oldwatchdan on Instagram -------

Thanks badbackdan.