Vintage Leather Watch Straps
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Vintage Leather Watch Straps

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Vintage Leather Watch Straps

Hi,
    I'm new to vintage watches. I recently purchased a few Swiss and German watches produced approximately between 1935 and 1965. Some of these watches were "new old stock" and others seem to have received very little use. So, they came with what seems to be the original leather straps.

It is not a surprise that the leather is a bit brittle from age. However, the straps also appear to be very thin and sometimes also short (as compared to more modern watches).

Is it likely that I am noticing a symptom of age and that the leather would have been thicker when new? Or, were watch bands different at that time? I guess another possibility is that these were inexpensive watches with cheap bands. Who can enlighten me? What do well preserved mid-century leather watch straps look like?

Re: Vintage Leather Watch Straps

what we really need is some pictures. But there are a couple of things you need to bear in mind.
    In the past watches were much smaller than they are now and a slim elegant gentleman's dress watch would have a slim elegant band.
    Even when it came to tough military style watches, before the war these would generally only measure 29 or 30 mm in diameter.
    Of course what hasn't changed is that cheap and cheerful watches would have had cheap and cheerful straps.

Sellers often make wild claims (like NOS), but if you really believe you have 80-year old leather straps, I would be very cautious about using them, unless they are extremely sturdy.
    Alhawki12 likes this.
    -- Dan (formerly known as @badbackdan)
    ------- @oldwatchdan on Instagram -------

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

If the leather dried out so much that it thinned notably, I think it'd be VERY brittle, and bending it to any degree would result in obvious damage.