Just wanted to get your opinions on this vintage Longines Flaship:
    Name:  PVU250-799.jpg
Views: 1323
Size:  23.3 KBName:  PVU250-799B.jpg
Views: 1024
Size:  23.3 KBName:  PVU250-799C.jpg
Views: 1130
Size:  23.1 KB

That’s about it for the pics. No pic of the movement but the company is offering a one year warranty from manufacturing defects. Price is 700$.

First questions is would you buy a vintage watch online or even in a store without seeing the movement?
    Second, I tried to look up this model of Longines but the Flagship models that I came across in my searching looked nothing like this. Anyone know about this particular style of Longines?
    Third, since I don’t know much about this style and haven’t seen the movement I have no idea if 700$ is a reasonable price, thoughts?
    Lastly, looks like the case back, crown, band, and buckle are not original but I am new to vintage watches and could be wrong, thoughts?

I appreciate your feedback.
    Last edited by kprzybyl; June 13th, 2012 at 22:18.

Re: Vintage Longines Flagship

Hi there,

First impressions... thought it looks like a great watch!

Not know much about Longines (own a couple), I tried looking for a similar one..... after quite some time, I found this:

Coin des Affaires - Longines Flagship diver

Has the same 285 cal movement as advertised in the one you are interested in (which I note was used in many handwind flagships I just saw).

Caseback looks ok (from the one obscure pic of the back and side) to me. Band and buckle are definite replacements... as could the crown be (not uncommon in older watches). I would also say the crystal has been replaced... again, not uncommon!

As for your first question, I have bought many watches without seeing the movement..... but not spent that amount!! Can you not ask the site for a movement pic?

Marc
    A designer knows he has achieved perfection not when there is nothing left to add, but when there is nothing left to take away...