Vintage Omega
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Emre
  • 1 Post By Emre

Thread: Vintage Omega

Vintage Omega

I love the look of these vintage Omegas, however I'm a little suspicious about their relatively low price. Are these clever fakes or are they relatively common and therefore cheap(ish)?

Watch #1
    Watch #2

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I am new to this (as is probably plainly obvious).

Re: Vintage Omega

Hi and welcome.

Well not fakes but what we call 'Franken' watches.

In these cases the person has taken an original pocket watch movement, made a new case and dial to his own design, and voila you have a 'Franken' timepiece.

Is it as bad as a 'fake'? Well its using a manufacturers original movement, but the rest is NOTHING like the original manufacturer produced

To me they are identical to a fake.
    To give this seller his due - he does say
    Case: New, nickel-plated, made for this mechanism Age: Vintage (1920-1970)
    Dial: New, metal, painted

Its hardly vintage he made it last week, and "rare" - absolutely, it is the ONLY one to exist (unless he makes a second) LOL
    Regards
    adam
    Last edited by HOROLOGIST007; May 28th, 2013 at 18:29.
    NEVER ARGUE WITH AN IDIOT. FIRST THEY WILL DRAG YOU DOWN TO THEIR LEVEL. THEN, THEY WILL BEAT YOU WITH EXPERIENCE.

"Failure is not an option" - Gene Kranz
    "Owning a vintage watch is great, understanding where it sits in Horology is magnificent"
    and
    "By Teaching Others, We Teach Ourselves"
    Adam

both watches are re-watches,famous Ukrainian franken wonders, meaning they are re-cased, dial re-painted and modified. Have nothing to do with the timepiece which left the Omega ateliers. The movements are probably original Omega pocket watch movements, but the rest is put together.I would say, stay away...

Edit: Upps Adam was quicker obviously
    Last edited by Emre; May 28th, 2013 at 18:31.
    HOROLOGIST007 likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com