Vintage Omega Geneve

Thread: Vintage Omega Geneve

Vintage Omega Geneve

Hello Everyone

I wanted to buy a watch that was "born" the same year as I. I found this one in a local Jeweller and bought it. I paid £175 for it complete with a 6 month guarantee and a new Omega strap. I was wondering if I have paid the right price for it or not. It doesn't really matter because as I far as I can see it's the genuine article and it's running + 5 seconds per day which I think is quite good considering it's nearly 41 years old. Any thoughts much appreciated.
    Mark.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Vintage Omega Geneve

It's worth what you're willing to pay for it, and apparently you were willing to pay 175. I'm assuming it was serviced, so factoring that into the price, it's a good deal. Maybe too good. I'm a rank amateur as far as Omega's go, and it might just be the light, but the train bridge seems to have a different look to it which could mean that it was a replacment part. Which would still be "genuine" but not necessarily "original". The dial may also have been refinished, as the "g" in omega looks a bit off to me.
    My growing collection of "affordable" vintages: http://www.abslomrob.com

Quote Originally Posted by mdaynes View Post
    Hello Everyone

I wanted to buy a watch that was "born" the same year as I. I found this one in a local Jeweller and bought it. I paid £175 for it complete with a 6 month guarantee and a new Omega strap. I was wondering if I have paid the right price for it or not. It doesn't really matter because as I far as I can see it's the genuine article and it's running + 5 seconds per day which I think is quite good considering it's nearly 41 years old. Any thoughts much appreciated.
    Mark.
    That's a pretty watch, Mark. The way I look at it: in 5 years if you're still wearing it with pride, it wouldn't matter if you'd paid plus or minus 20 pounds for it initially.