Vintage Watch Noob needs help!

Thread: Vintage Watch Noob needs help!

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Vintage Watch Noob needs help!

I am a true noob to this site as I only signed up today. As a noob, I would usually just keep my mouth shut and do a lot of reading. However, today I would like to solicit some advice.

I have recently become enamored with vintage watches. As an avid user of ebay (go ahead, slap your forehead) I have spent quite a few days looking at some of those offerings. I have mainly purchased and sold cars on ebay so in general, I know what to look for as far as targeting scams and dirty sellers. In addition, I always only pay through Paypal using my Amex as Amex has always refunded the charges when Paypal drags their feet. I have also been looking at vintage watch retailers. Unfortunately, those guys sell for much higher than what I am looking to spend.

First, let me start with what I already purchased and then explain what I would like to purchase.

I am former U.S. Air Force and I like items with military history. I found a WWI era pre Zenith signed Georges Favre-Jacot on the dial. This watch is NOT mint but it has a certain patina that I found attractive. It is a retrofitted pocket watch. In addition, the back is engraved with markings that correspond with... I will just post the ebay description:

"Vintage example of a men’s ca 1915-1918 timepiece. It is a unique, vintage Georges Favre-Jacot CHRONOGRAPH example of wristwatch.

...features original Porcelain DIAL (have some small cracks under bezel) with black enamel Arabic numerals, 30 min - counter.
    Rare original two-hinged case is in excellent-very good condition. Peeking inside I find there is an stamp "19898". The outside of the outer case lid have engraved mark "P.u.W. Jnst. Abtg." and a Propeller with Wings - German Flying Corps Mark.
    This beautiful wristwatch has the original RARE movement. Working very good.