vintage watches for sale in the (n)online world

Thread: vintage watches for sale in the (n)online world

vintage watches for sale in the (n)online world

Hey folks,

I am new to watch collecting but I am making up for lost time.

By the irrational system I am using to manage this new habit, I currently have the right to buy myself a cheaper watch ($100 or less). However, I have not yet purchased online (fakes and frankensteins are scary) and I enjoy the chase of digging through antiques stores, thrift stores, etc to find cheap diamonds among over-valued coal. I passed on a vintage Seiko auto for $100 because although it ran, it was poorly reassembled and had rust under the loose caseback. I recently soured on quartz after a cleaning and new battery did not revive a $3 goofy reverse. I am starting to feel a bit creepy visiting the pawn shops in the neighboring town so much, and mostly what they have are over-priced, uuuugly, newer watches. Few antiques stores carry watches. Cool vintage watch dealers I have heard about are far away and have unreliable hours.

I need ideas for places to go locally to find affordable vintage watches, perhaps including ones that I could learn to clean, reassemble, and calibrate myself. What am I missing for places to find watches?
    Last edited by tinyfrogs; September 29th, 2011 at 06:39. Reason: typos

Re: vintage watches for sale in the (n)online world

I go into lots of charity shops which is something I never used to do in the past, to find cheap watches, flee markets is also a place where I go, no luck yet. most of mine are bought on the bay, you can still pick up cheap vintage watches esp seiko and roamer I bought was cheap and in great condition. Also try watch fairs and even friendly with a local watchguy that fixes vintage watches, as he may know or have a good cheap watch for you.

Where are you located tinyfrogs?
    A fellow member in your area might be able to suggest some spots for you.