Waltham - Mystery Part
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By AbslomRob

Thread: Waltham - Mystery Part

Waltham - Mystery Part

Hi,

While separating the top movement plate a small part flew out and now i'm not sure where is came from. It has a small 'V' cut out at one end. See attached picture.The watch is a waltham Mass (5553905).

Many Thanks

Martin
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Waltham - Mystery Part

That is your pallet. Jewels engage with escape wheel, the 'V' with the balance.

Assemble these watches upside down, it is easier.

Thanks, but i'm new to this. Has anyone have a picture of the pallet fork in place?

Regards

Martin

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Name:  GearTrain02.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  122.6 KB
    Bobby - My original music! Check me out! Thanks!
    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...11CC8CC6093D80

Hello...yes, it certainly is a pallet, and, yes, be sure to assemble this watch's train on the top plate ( I hold the plate in my hand, at eye lever ), then--ever-so-gently--lower the pillar plate onto it...you'll want a very fine tweezer ( say, Dumont #5 ) and/or a long,fine needle-like tool, to move the pivots into alignment...the pillar plate will drop into place once all the pivots are correct...I usually put one plate screw in,and tighten it very gently as I move the pivots into position...the first time you do this, you may be a bit unhappy with how fussy it all is...be patient! You'll quickly see how the pallet is placed,as you set the train together. Finally; do NOT tighten the plate screw,until you're sure the train is free...I've worked on MANY such watches that have damaged train jewels because the repairer forced the plates together..!! Finally: I always enjoy seeing these old fellows together and ticking....it's Good for one's Soul.