a watch with replaced parts

Thread: a watch with replaced parts

a watch with replaced parts

Hi Folks, my question relates specifically [for me] to American pocket watches from say 1890 to 1960 but probably includes all watches that would be considered 'collectible'.

I see many parts for sale and I wonder 1) how can you tell if a watch has had parts replaced [covers, crystal, hands and movement]? And, 2) how does this affect the value as a collectible watch? How can a buyer tell if a watch is original or has some/lots of parts replaced? Or perhaps this isn't an issue?

I'm new to this and while I have browsed the forums here I have not run across a thread about this. If there is, please point the way. If there are good resources on the 'net I'd love to know.

Thanks,
    Ralph

Re: a watch with replaced parts

Quote Originally Posted by jazzereh View Post
    I see many parts for sale and I wonder 1) how can you tell if a watch has had parts replaced [covers, crystal, hands and movement]? And, 2) how does this affect the value as a collectible watch? How can a buyer tell if a watch is original or has some/lots of parts replaced? Or perhaps this isn't an issue?
    1) Sometimes you can tell visually, sometimes you cannot. Some brands have special marks to look for on certain components that help.

2) It matters to some people. Most people can tolerate some replacements as long as they are suitable, as wear is expected on vintage watches. If the replacements are obvious, they usually reduce the value. The trends of making wristwatches out of pocket watches and "modding" watches counters this logic, but purchasers of those items are typically not vintage collectors.