Watch stoppage mystery

Thread: Watch stoppage mystery

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Confused Watch stoppage mystery

Whenever I go to a movie theatre, my watch stops. This has occured 4 times now, and I'm convinced it has to be more than a coincidence.

I have an early '60s Seamaster (with a 562 cal movement) that has recently been overhauled by a recommended watchmaker, and otherwise, it keeps very good time.

Last night, after the children were in bed, I went to a 9:55 showing of Shutter Island - by 10:25, my watch had stopped. It only began running later on when I pulled out the crown to re-set the time.

This has happened each time I go to this theatre - its a modern, stadium-style set-up. Could there be sonic issues because of the surround sound? Could it have to do with my wrist's angle of repose? Vibration?

This seems silly, and right now I'm mostly just bemused; still, I'm looking for any suggestions as to why this happens

??

Thanks,

Jim

Re: Watch stoppage mystery

Neat. Low frequency vibrations would be my first guess. Find a subwoofer to sit it on top of and see if that makes it stop too.
    My growing collection of "affordable" vintages: http://www.abslomrob.com

Witchcraft, clearly.
    Erik_H
    Member NAWCC Chapter 149

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Some folks would think you were just telling stories, but it is very likely there is some sort of problem.
    We had a similar problem with a car only when parked at the same spot at work...We finally figured out it was a radio signal at the same time every day.
    With your watch it could be something magnetic maybe, don't know but good luck.

Quote Originally Posted by AAWATCHES View Post
    Some folks would think you were just telling stories, but it is very likely there is some sort of problem.
    We had a similar problem with a car only when parked at the same spot at work...We finally figured out it was a radio signal at the same time every day.