west end watch - competition, help id please

Thread: west end watch - competition, help id please

west end watch - competition, help id please

hello!

this is my first post in this forum and there looks to be some amazing experts here. Apologies for my spacing, my tablet isn't letting me add lines right now..... I live in Singapore and just found an interesting shop this week which Carries a lot of vintage watches. after seeing some posts here, I picked up a west end watch Co piece ”competition”. I have searched around but only seen ”competition” on some wewc pocketwatches. can you please helpme to identify this watch or at least the year made? I would like tobe able to check out some research on my own but I'm struggling to find any guides, serial number listings, etc. is west end watch Co helpful in dating or providing info to their vintage watches? this is an interesting watch for me since the dial is inverted. please note that I'm a complete newbie to watches but am enjoying the research the. the numbers on the back are 3361 4059.

Re: west end watch - competition, help id please

here are the pics.

Name:  IMG_20120402_100806.jpg
Views: 982
Size:  189.2 KB
    Name:  IMG_20120402_100612.jpg
Views: 907
Size:  178.7 KB

Name:  IMG_20120402_100515.jpg
Views: 930
Size:  112.9 KB
    Attached Images Attached Images

Hi and welcome.

It looks like the movement is a Unitas bidfun-db Archive: Watch Movements: Unitas 6497-1 or bidfun-db Archive: Watch Movements: Unitas 6498-1

It was made to go into a pocket watch case sometime after 1950. Either the original case has had wire lugs soldered on and the crown/bow arrangement altered to make it into a wristwatch, or (more likely I think) the movement has been put into a new modern case. These movements, and clones of them, are nowadays used in wristwatches as the average size of wristwatches is much bigger than in the past.