what is the best manual wind Enicar movement?
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Roland Ranfft

Thread: what is the best manual wind Enicar movement?

what is the best manual wind Enicar movement?

I'm a novice watch enthusiast and have been researching in hopes of picking up a couple of vintage manual wind watches to start with. I have been reading about Enicar and have found a couple I like for a decent price. One is a 1010 and the other is a 160. Both original dials, crown, movement, etc. These would be to keep and wear and not to resell for a quick buck. Any advice? Thanks!
    Last edited by Space Noodle; September 7th, 2014 at 02:24.

Re: what is the best manual wind Enicar movement?

Moved to Vintage.
    160 is a newer movement & a bit higher frequency, according to the Ranfft archive. Both have shock protection. I'd choose based on condition and seller.
    Last edited by Ray MacDonald; September 7th, 2014 at 15:13.

There are fathers who do not love their children; there is no grandfather who does not adore his grandson. ~ Victor Hugo

Thanks! I know the 1010 is older, and that is really what I was leaning toward.
    - Mike

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

1010s are a very rugged movement! One of Enicar's best in my humble opinion.

They also are capable of outstanding accuracy. Assuming you have a good watchmaker willing to make it run right. That is at least 75% of the battle right there.

The 160 is certainly no slouch. Might be timed to even more accuracy than the 1010. As for how rugged, I defer to others who have more experience with that movement.

Hi there,

Quote Originally Posted by hns-panama View Post
    ....I defer to others who have more experience with that movement.
    I'm afraid a collector can't gain experiences with his watches. Each has to share his wrist with many others, and even his grandson will not become old enough to notice anything. Moreover two watches with diferrent histories can't be compared.