What the heck is this

Thread: What the heck is this

What the heck is this

I bought this watch last week and there is no form of identification anywhere on it including the movement. All that's on it is a serial number on the case and some roman numerals scratched into the edge of the back cover. Any ideas on what it could be.

Re: What the heck is this

I think it might be an old Swiss pin set cylinder watch.Bit hard to tell from the photos, but that's what it looks like to me.

hands :)

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Swiss generic movement from the turn of the century.If you are lucky,maybe youll find some markings under the dial.
    “Thoughts are the shadows of our feelings - always darker, emptier and simpler.”

Friedrich Nietzsche

http://www.portalsatova.com/forum/

While the hands are almost identical I have a hard time Imagining patek making a watch and not putting there name at least on the movement. I'm new to watch collecting and this is the first one I've bought so I'm just hoping it's worth the 45 bucks I spent on it. Are unmarked watches like this commonplace?

If it is a cylinder (which it looks like) it's probably pre-1900. Many of the "big names" in swiss watches weren't as "big" then as they are now, and the industry was structured a bit differently.
    My growing collection of "affordable" vintages: http://www.abslomrob.com

Quote Originally Posted by dravanchad View Post
    While the hands are almost identical I have a hard time Imagining patek making a watch and not putting there name at least on the movement. I'm new to watch collecting and this is the first one I've bought so I'm just hoping it's worth the 45 bucks I spent on it. Are unmarked watches like this commonplace?