What if the watch runs well, but only for 4 hours????

Thread: What if the watch runs well, but only for 4 hours????

Question What if the watch runs well, but only for 4 hours????

I have a question about watches that run, but only for 4 to maybe 6 hours........mostly I am talking about vintage wristwatches from the mid-20s tillll the 70s or so ......

........I find every now and then I get a watch that runs great, and keeps time very well, but not for long .......

......I was under the impression that it means that the watch is probably fine, but needs to be cleaned .........then last week, a guy told me that it could need a new mainspring, or any number of things......

........could someone set me straight on this ? and quickly, I have a Longine watch I have to decide on soon !.....

thanks for the help......I am just getting into vintgage watches, ( been about a year now) and without knowing a watch guy, it's hit and miss learning.......

Re: What if the watch runs well, but only for 4 hours????

Properly serviced and wound, a functioning mechanical (handwound) watch should last for about 36 hours (a day and a half, in other words).

If it isn't, then it requires servicing. If it's stopping before the 36 hours is up, then it's an indication that either...

--- Something is worn out (needs replacing).

--- Something is broken (needs replacing or repairing).

--- Something is jamming something else (needs cleaning or repair).

--- The lubrication-oils have dried out (requires cleaning & reassembly).

It's best to take your pieces to a watchmaker, explain to him what the problem is, and let him pull apart your watches to give the pieces a professional assessment.
    "Pipes are occasionally of extraordinary interest...nothing has more individuality save, perhaps, watches and bootlaces."

- Sherlock Holmes.

'The Yellow Face'.