When did the craftsmanship end?

Thread: When did the craftsmanship end?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Wink When did the craftsmanship end?

Hi all

Just somthing I have been thinking about....maybe I am wrong in lots of the things I say/think (sorry for that), but when did the high craftsmanship come more or less to a end in watchmaking?

Well, not "end" but turn from man made to more or less robot made as watches more or less are today.

A pocket watch from the 1850´s was more or less made by hand.But, as the industy change, so did the watch making. Stil a pocket watch was turnd out with very high craftsmanship in 1910 to.

When Omega or Angelus made a watch in 1928, I think it had more hand work, crafsmanship than they did in 1962.
    Today some say that a Rolex or Cartier is hand made.....well, maybe the movement is. I am no expert, but I do not think that a 2008 watch from them have the same craftsmanship as they did back in the good old days.

Who was first to stop with man made watch and who was last?

Thanks for looking

Cheers
    Vegard_dino

Re: When did the craftsmanship end?

Machine tooling and assembly line methods came into American watch making as early as the late 1850s. So it's been a long process from hand made to today's robotics.
    That's a good thing though, as millions of people in the late 1800s and early 1900s era got a good watch at a decent price. Also a lot easier and cheaper to fix with standardized parts.

There are fathers who do not love their children; there is no grandfather who does not adore his grandson. ~ Victor Hugo

Lathes have always built balance staffs... nowadays the lathe is run by a computer.
    Milling machines have always carved cases... nowadays the milling machine is run by a computer.
    ... etc...
    Man as a species designed all of this so they are all still man made.