Why do you collect vintage watches?
Like Tree46Likes

Thread: Why do you collect vintage watches?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Hi everyone, I am new to collecting vintage watches and new to WUS.

I am curious why you collect vintage watches? Is it the classic style? The history of specific period, event, or brand? The potential for investment? ad infinitum...

Personally, I like the styles and the "soul" of a vintage piece.

I have a lot to learn and that's why I am here. Thank you.

Re: Why do you collect vintage watches?

How many times before have we talked about that... I've stopped counting.

The "soul" that a vintage watch has is definitely a part of why I collect them. They're pretty much timeless, and a piece with patina on it has these warm looks to it. It's a bit like with vinyl LPs. Yeah, you can listen to "Dark Side of the Moon" on your car stereo, but that faint, warm humming sound you get from playing the LP on the turntable is just priceless. And that's what it's like with vintage watches, they just have that inexplicable, warm vibe to them.

Investment? Well, not necessarily. Only a few vintage watches tend to gain enough value over time to be considered investments.

As to money, it's also a part of it. You can get plenty of good watches for just a fraction of the price of a new watch... And even if one can just walk into a watch shop and spend whole lotta cash, what's the skill in that? Everything's within your reach, and all it takes is a lot of cash. No, that's just boring. A limited budget combined with the necessity of doing your research, gradually increasing the watch identification skills and training yourself in noticing the smallest of details is quite a challenge, but where there's no challenge, there's no fun. And if there's no fun, that I can't abide.

Also, saving cash for the Holy Grail is way more boring than seeking the Holy Grail.