Zodiac Chronograph
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Dan S
  • 1 Post By M52Power

Thread: Zodiac Chronograph

Zodiac Chronograph

Hi everybody, I'm looking for some help identifying the movement of a 1950s (?) chronograph by Zodiac. I have the oportunity to buy it, but as I'm quite new to the horology world I (as well as the seller of the watch) have no idea of its engine. Every bit of information would be wellcome - opinions on the condition of the movement and the watch and its worthness also. Thanks in advance!
    Name:  IMG-8774d8a4c7bbe397dc88b8a1c2f377e7-V.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  128.3 KBName:  IMG-8a2f64c7f1efb376549fe4395fe71553-V.jpg
Views: 84
Size:  199.0 KB

Re: Zodiac Chronograph

Landeron 48 or 148. Probably the most common chronograph movement that you will find in vintage watches, and very often used in entry-level pieces. Given the condition of that case, you should not pay very much for this watch.

bidfun-db Archive: Watch Movements: Landeron 48
    M52Power likes this.
    -- Dan (formerly known as @badbackdan)
    ------- @oldwatchdan on Instagram -------

Thanks man, your answer is greatly appreciated and very helpfull!

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Double post.

It's expensive to service/repair a chronograph, so IMO it doesn't make sense to invest that money in a piece that's in poor condition.

Quote Originally Posted by badbackdan View Post
    It's expensive to service/repair a chronograph, so IMO it doesn't make sense to invest that money in a piece that's in poor condition.
    Yeah, I quit buying it. I was hoping to have something like a Lemania, Venus, or Valjoux inside - then probably I would have stepped in and buy it, but to my knowledge Landeron powered chronographs were the ''tourist's chronos'' of the day so not much value nor quality to be expected. Thanks again!
    Last edited by M52Power; November 24th, 2018 at 20:41.