Breitling Top Time - info sought

Thread: Breitling Top Time - info sought

Breitling Top Time - info sought

I have also written this up a TZ so apologies to anyone that reads it twice ...

I am looking at a Top Time in a vintage watch shop. It has the 45 min subdial at 3 and the seconds subdial at 9. The second hand/stopwatch operates as it should in that it requires a good push to the upper push button to start and similarly to stop, with reset done by pushing the lower subsidiary pusher to the crown.

It has a charcoal dial and silvery subdials.

My question - because I know nothing of Breitling vintage - is, is this a collectable watch? Also, though I have only been able to do a little research, were they all manual wind?

I wish I has some pics to offer to the forum, but as a collector of vintage IWC and Omega I feel comfortable judging the cosmetics, which are very good. I have no knowledge though of a) whether these watches are often faked, b) are the movements robust and reasonably accurate in normal condition, etc.

The reputation of the store is fairly good and they attest they have had the piece given a full overhaul. Judging by the nice patina left on the polished case, it seems to have been treated with respect. I really like the style of it - especially in the colour scheme of the dial and it is a little more minimal than more modern Breitlings, which is appealing to me.

Any info and background on this model gratefully received.

Thanks

Richard
    Last edited by zambo; December 22nd, 2006 at 11:21.

Re: Breitling Top Time - info sought

Hi Zambo,

I am sure other on this forum will have more detailed information than me but here goes my two pence worth ....