Anyone tried their rangeman altimeter at sea level?
Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By Chrisek
  • 2 Post By michi098
  • 2 Post By stockae92

Thread: Anyone tried their rangeman altimeter at sea level?

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Member metatime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    359

    Anyone tried their rangeman altimeter at sea level?

    I was by the sea this weekend and i stood on a pier which was about 20ft above sea level. Rangeman kept showing 25 m... just wondering if that's normal...

  2. #2
    Member Chrisek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Brentwood, TN
    Posts
    6,184

    Re: Anyone tried their rangeman altimeter at sea level?

    I have the similar setup on the PRW-3000 (also v3 sensors). Have shown 20 or 30 ft above and below. Have to zero it when you can. The nice thing is you know your altitude for a fact ;)

    sent with aloha
    metatime likes this.
    Yes, I am OCD. What gave it away?

  3. #3
    Member michi098's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Ohio, U.S.A.
    Posts
    192

    Re: Anyone tried their rangeman altimeter at sea level?

    Quote Originally Posted by metatime View Post
    I was by the sea this weekend and i stood on a pier which was about 20ft above sea level. Rangeman kept showing 25 m... just wondering if that's normal...
    An altimeter is just a "stupid" instrument which measures air pressure. It has to be set periodically when the air pressure changes to get the correct altitude readings. Same way pilots do it. If you are at sea level, it's the perfect time to set the altimeter to zero. All that stuff is covered in the manual too, albeit a little lengthy.
    Chrisek and metatime like this.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    G-Shock Mod stockae92's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California - USA
    Posts
    13,507

    Re: Anyone tried their rangeman altimeter at sea level?

    ditto on "you need to zero it", atmospheric pressure changes depends on a lot of factors, and your altimeter making "assumption" based on that.
    Chrisek and metatime like this.
    1 3 5
    ├┼┼╕
    2 4 6 R

  6. #5
    Member metatime's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Kuala Lumpur
    Posts
    359

    Re: Anyone tried their rangeman altimeter at sea level?

    Thanks guys for the responses... Now I know. I'll zero it whenever I get the chance to. Cheers!

  7. #6
    Moderator G-Shock Forum Sjors's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    21,483

    Re: Anyone tried their rangeman altimeter at sea level?

    We had some rough weather last weekend. I live at sealevel (actually -0.40m), but I woke up Sunday at 85 meters

    Also the elevator movie, I posted last night was around Sealevel. More likely I was going down from 10m to 5m, but had no time to "zero".

    Cheers,

    Sjors


    Cheers,

    Sjors

    Sent using Tapatalk!
    There are only 10 kind of people. Those who understand binary and those who don't.


    Bezoek ook eens het Nederlandstalige WUS forum: Kaliber 2010


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •