atomic feature question

Thread: atomic feature question

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    120

    atomic feature question

    I got a question to all the g-shock geeks.

    Im planning to buy a PAW-1500 waveceptor. But I dont live near to any of the 6 countries where i can get auto time calibration. What happens if i dont get a signal? Can I turn this feature off? I had someone told me also that waveceptors reset their time when held close to a PC (sounds weird and imposible) but can you guys comment? Local Casio store in my place dont sell atomic/waveceptor watches so I cant even try them out.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Member Seamaster73's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    GB
    Posts
    2,454

    Re: atomic feature question

    Yes. You can disable automatic atomic sync. The watch then operates like any quartz watch.

  3. #3
    Member trozau's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    G-Shockland, USA
    Posts
    747

    Cool Re: atomic feature question

    Quote Originally Posted by the_sphinx View Post
    I got a question to all the g-shock geeks.

    Im planning to buy a PAW-1500 waveceptor. But I dont live near to any of the 6 countries where i can get auto time calibration. What happens if i dont get a signal? Can I turn this feature off? I had someone told me also that waveceptors reset their time when held close to a PC (sounds weird and imposible) but can you guys comment? Local Casio store in my place dont sell atomic/waveceptor watches so I cant even try them out.

    Thanks in advance!
    Where are you at? Folks in Australia are able to receive sync signals from Japan and that is quite a long way. If China is closer to you, you can now get multiband 6 models that can receive sync signals from China.
    trozau (troy ounce gold)
    honi soit qui mal y pense
    http://forums.collectors.com/attachments//trozau_ani.gif
    gold - the barbarous relic!

    Does anybody really know what time it is?
    Robert Lamm of the group Chicago, 1969

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    244

    Re: atomic feature question

    Quote Originally Posted by trozau View Post
    Where are you at? Folks in Australia are able to receive sync signals from Japan and that is quite a long way. If China is closer to you, you can now get multiband 6 models that can receive sync signals from China.
    that is true only for brisbane and probably darwin, the rest 7 major cities can't.

    anyone in sydney ,melbourne ,canberra ,adeilaide got it???


    GW2000B-1A
    GW-9200 'Dragon' Riseman
    DW-5600E-1V
    AWG 101-1A
    Seiko SNZG13K1

  6. #5
    Member Queen6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    The land of the Unexpected
    Posts
    3,518

    Re: atomic feature question

    Quote Originally Posted by the_sphinx View Post
    I got a question to all the g-shock geeks.

    Im planning to buy a PAW-1500 waveceptor. But I dont live near to any of the 6 countries where i can get auto time calibration. What happens if i dont get a signal? Can I turn this feature off? I had someone told me also that waveceptors reset their time when held close to a PC (sounds weird and imposible) but can you guys comment? Local Casio store in my place dont sell atomic/waveceptor watches so I cant even try them out.

    Thanks in advance!
    Why don`t you get a PRG-130 it`s exactly the same as the Paw-1500 minus the Atomic feature, and it will be cheaper?

    They are out now,and can be found on the web $200 - $280 depending on model (approximately)

    Q-6

  7. #6
    Member G-Shocks Are Cool.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    3,432

    Re: atomic feature question

    Yes, you can disable the atomic features.

    But, the cool part about atomic watches is, they work thousands of miles away.

    So, find the one closes to you and test it out.

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    120

    Re: atomic feature question

    Quote Originally Posted by trozau View Post
    Where are you at? Folks in Australia are able to receive sync signals from Japan and that is quite a long way. If China is closer to you, you can now get multiband 6 models that can receive sync signals from China.
    Im from the Philippines. If the signal reaches Australia then it should work in the Phil too! Thanks!

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    120

    Re: atomic feature question

    thanks. ill consider the prg130 as well.

  10. #9
    Member PaulE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    California
    Posts
    895

    Re: atomic feature question

    I was only able to try early last week when i got my gw5525. Yes, you can receive a signal here in the Philippines.

    My 5525 syncs every 12:02am when i place it next to an open window. I'm in quezon city.


  11. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    120

    Re: atomic feature question

    thanks for the confirmation PaulE! But one more.... where are you getting your signal from? Jap or Chin??

    Btw, after reading threads from this forum, i think ill get me a riseman instead ;)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •