Atomic question

Thread: Atomic question

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    123

    Atomic question

    For those G's with the Atomic feature, can it be deactivated? Example if you're purposely syncing to another time and don't want the atomic feature to chage that. (Does that make sense?)

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin USA
    Posts
    5,568

    Re: Atomic question

    If you turn the auto sync to 'OFF' that should take care of it. Then when you want to you can manually sync the watch.

  3. #3
    Member duke4c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    4,883

    Re: Atomic question

    While this is true I don't recommend this... manually updating means updating trough the day and that's almost guaranteed not to succeed because of all of interearance trough they day...

  4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #4
    Member Ghobbit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    797

    Re: Atomic question

    Yes. I concur. Reception is best at the auto settings since it occurs late at night.

    When traveling from one time zone to another, it is best to change your home city setting instead of going to the world time feature and just looking at that for your new timezone.

    Changing your home city setting will ensure all your alarms will go off at the right time. Plus you can let it auto-receive without worry.

  6. #5
    Member NickDolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    West By God Virginia.
    Posts
    4,930

    Re: Atomic question

    While I'm new to atomic time keeping (loving it thus far) I was able to do a manual receive at 1 AM at approximately 1500 miles from Fort Collins. I just had to find my West facing window and I was able to receive full signal and it calibrated in about 3-4 minutes. I had to experiment to find my best window, I also used the same window to charge it to a full charge in about 6 hours in a sunny window.

  7. #6
    Member kramer5150's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,672

    Re: Atomic question

    Quote Originally Posted by muxinick View Post
    While I'm new to atomic time keeping (loving it thus far) I was able to do a manual receive at 1 AM at approximately 1500 miles from Fort Collins. I just had to find my West facing window and I was able to receive full signal and it calibrated in about 3-4 minutes. I had to experiment to find my best window, I also used the same window to charge it to a full charge in about 6 hours in a sunny window.
    x2 for the most part. I just set it near the window-sill, close to direct sunlight and it automatically picks up a signal.

  8. #7
    Member cal..45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    CMOWE (Central Madhouse Of Western Europe)
    Posts
    8,522

    Re: Atomic question

    Quote Originally Posted by BearFlagger View Post
    For those G's with the Atomic feature, can it be deactivated? Example if you're purposely syncing to another time and don't want the atomic feature to chage that. (Does that make sense?)
    well, it doesn't make any sense for me but yes - it is possible. I own two atomic watches and on neither one you can the radio reception just turn off. however, you can set the "homezone" to one of those cities where the watch does not allow for RC and after that set your local time manually. but I honestly can't see what this would be good for....


    regards, holger

  9. #8
    Member NickDolin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    West By God Virginia.
    Posts
    4,930

    Re: Atomic question

    I've turned mine off as well, mainly because I don't see the need for it to calibrate 4 times a day.... also, I'm often in a room in the middle of the house and it doesn't get the signal. I'm also often up during 2-5AM... so for me, it would be best to just take it off at 5-6am, do a manual receive 1 time a day and let it sit in the window... no need for it to try and calibrate in a room it won't get a signal in and waste battery power, but just IMO...

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •