Casio G-Shock Solar Issue (Not Charging)

Thread: Casio G-Shock Solar Issue (Not Charging)

Casio G-Shock Solar Issue (Not Charging)

I have a Casio G-Shock Model GW700DU (2867) with solar charging etc. and now when left to charge in direct daylight it will charge but the charge does not last for very long out of the daylight.

Now i am quite technical and have opened the watch up looking for a capacitor etc and found a battery (CR1616) Does this battery have anything to do with the solar charging or is it just responsible for the light etc ?

Please can anyone shed some light on this issue please.
    Carl

Re: Casio G-Shock Solar Issue (Not Charging)

Hi Carl, was the watch originally purchased by you? The CR1616 is a non-rechargeable battery if memory serves correct. It's the CTL1616's that are rechargeable.

In either case a new battery (CR or CTL) should fix you right up.

Please do further research though and don't base anything on my post. I am new to the G-Shock game and the more knowledgeable of the group will chime in soon enough.

Regards,
    Paolo

Suspended

I don't think it is a good idea to put non-rechargable batteries in a chargable system. Your manual calls for a CTL1616 (page 4).

http://ftp.casio.co.jp/pub/world_man.../en/qw2867.pdf

Here's a How To thread

https://forums.watchuseek.com/showthread.php?t=41076
    Last edited by nhoJ; November 3rd, 2009 at 18:29.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

does a 10 year battery last longer than a tough solar ?!!

Quote Originally Posted by freeman View Post
    does a 10 year battery last longer than a tough solar ?!!
    Probably not, unless the rechargeable battery (or charging system) is faulty. Fifteen years is a likely minimum for tough solars, with much longer lives being more usual.
    I used to list my watches here until I realised it ruined people's Google searches...

Quote Originally Posted by carl97 View Post